News:

alphaMELTS 1.9 is available at the download and information site.
alphaMELTS 2 standalone & for MATLAB/Python are available on request
(see the Version 2 tab on the download site for more details).
For news of all MELTS software see the MELTS Facebook page.

Main Menu

Getting started on windows

Started by Sarah, February 06, 2007, 04:28:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sarah

Hi,
I hope you'll bare with me as I'm really new to MELTS.  I have just downloaded it from the website and tried to run through the getting started section to test that I have installed everything correctly.  Perhaps very unimportantly, what I can see on this web page is nothing like the programme that I seem to be running when I open up adiabat_1ph.exe.  However, I am also unable to follow these steps thorough.  I have successfully read in one of the input files created, but how am I able to find the liquidus. Any help will be grately appreciated. Thanks, Sarah

Paula

Hi Sarah,

Hopefully we will be able to get Adiabat_1ph working on your system but there are a couple of questions I have first...

• Have you installed Perl?  You'll need it to be able to use run_adiabat.pl, which makes adiabat_1ph.exe more manageable.  If you need Perl for Windows then go to http://www.activestate.com/Products/ActivePerl/?_x=1

• How are you opening adiabat_1ph.exe?  At the command line with run_adiabat.pl or by double-clicking?  Double-clicking isn't recommended as you'll only be able to do the default calculation (isentropic, no trace elements etc.).