News:

alphaMELTS 1.9 is available at the download and information site.
alphaMELTS 2 standalone & for MATLAB/Python are available on request
(see the Version 2 tab on the download site for more details).
For news of all MELTS software see the MELTS Facebook page.

Main Menu

I'm almost there.

Started by coblem, March 04, 2008, 08:28:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

coblem

Hi Paula.

Like Sara, I am also really new to MELTS, and have got half way through the adiabat_1ph tutorial before I got stuck.

I have installed Perl, and I am running through the Command Prompt on Windows.  I put the contents of the MELTS folder into my default command prompt folder, so I don't have to reset my defaults.

I am stuck on step 4 of the tutorial (choice 10) where I am to 'find the liquidus' in phase diagram mode.  I re-downloaded the files, and still can't find my error.  Instead of the correct output from the tutorial:

Your choice: 10

... etc...

Enter 1 for special upwards-only search for troublesome phases: 0
...Adding the solid phase feldspar to the assemblage.

... etc ...

...Quadratic convergence accepted, but non-optimal.
...Dropping phase feldspar from the assemblage.
Isograd solution at: P 500.000000, T 1493.349219
liquid: 100.350 g 48.51 1.01 17.58 0.89 0.03 7.56 9.07 12.41 2.64 0.03 0.08 0.20
Activity of H2O = 0.0179036
Return to menu now (1) or increment P and continue calculations (0)? 1

The output file I get, following the same steps, reads as follows.

... etc...

Enter 1 for special upwards-only search for troublesome phases: 0
...Adding the solid phase olivine to the assemblage.
Initial Guess (not an isograd solution): P 500.000000, T 1473.150000
liquid: 82.239 g 49.00 1.23 15.85 1.08 0.04 8.49 8.71 12.39 2.83 0.04 0.10 0.24

Activity of H2O = 0.0266901

...etc...

THE QUADRATIC MINIMIZATION ALGORITHM HAS FAILED TO CONVERGE.
...Quadratic convergence failure. Aborting.
Not all calculations performed!