News:

alphaMELTS 1.9 is available at the download and information site.
alphaMELTS 2 standalone & for MATLAB/Python are available on request
(see the Version 2 tab on the download site for more details).
For news of all MELTS software see the MELTS Facebook page.

Main Menu

water in the system

Started by max.tirone, July 05, 2016, 03:59:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

max.tirone

Hello everybody,
I had a brief email discussion with Paula (on 4th of July, thanks for the reply!) about a little problem that I am facing with water in the system, I think it may be helpful to share my issue, in case some user had the same experience earlier and found a way to deal with it, or maybe future users will find this discussion helpful.

I started playing a bit with the program (version 1.4) and I stumbled into something that I don't quite understand.
I am including all the relevant files in the zip file max-test.zip (note that to attach the zip file I had to rename it as  max-test.txt, it is not a text file).
Here is the issue, I am running a single computation at given P,T  bulk composition with a certain amount of water (0.02 wt% or 200 ppm) with the option
"ALPHAMELTS_DO_TRACE_H2O true" activated (see file alphamelts_default_env.txt), no buffer.

Now if I introduce the water as wt% in the bulk (file: magma-wt-H2O-A.melts), in the output file for the trace elements (Trace_main_tbl.wt-H2O-A.txt)
you can see that there is an extra amount of water (~19 ppm), the total is 219.164, instead of 200 ppm.
This extra amount is the water that the program put in the nominally anydrous minerals, olivine, cpx, opx, while hornblende takes all the water that I have introduced in the input file (200 ppm). Question: should the hornblende take the water in the input minus the water that goes in ol,cpx and opx?
Short note, the total mass of the system is preserved (100 gr), that is the same as defined in the input bulk composition.