News:

alphaMELTS 1.9 is available at the download and information site.
alphaMELTS 2 standalone & for MATLAB/Python are available on request
(see the Version 2 tab on the download site for more details).
For news of all MELTS software see the MELTS Facebook page.

Main Menu

Modelling trace elements in peralkaline melts

Started by catherinemmj, January 19, 2017, 01:47:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

catherinemmj

Hi there - I'm new to MELTS and have a couple of questions.

Firstly, I'm looking for advice as to which MELTS programme to use. I am working with unusual peralkaline rhyolite glass compositions, which have evolved in shallow magma chambers.
My aim is to model FC and AFC between magma compositions erupted through time. I have lots of trace element data - but am I right in thinking that rhyolite-MELTS only models major elements? If this is the case, should I use alpha-MELTS?

Specifically, I am interested in barium, which increases in concentration in eruptives from my study volcano through time! x-y plots of Ba vs incompatible elements show that Ba is behaving as a weakly compatible to mildly incompatible element in these melts, contrary to its usual compatibility in feldspars. I am interested in whether the magma has been held deeper prior to eruption (suppressing feldspar crystallisation?), whether country rock has been assimilated, and if the partition coefficient for Ba is changing with peralkalinity. Is it possible to tweak the default partition coefficients for trace elements in MELTS for peralkaline compositions?

I am not quite sure whether to begin - so if you have any advice I would be really appreciative :)

Thanks - Erin.

Paula

Quote from: catherinemmj on January 19, 2017, 01:47:48 AM
Firstly, I'm looking for advice as to which MELTS programme to use. I am working with unusual peralkaline rhyolite glass compositions, which have evolved in shallow magma chambers.